Salted Caramel Blondies

Hi everyone! Firstly, a quick apology for the fact I haven’t posted a recipe for a whole term (oops)- it was my finals and then I went straight on holiday, so it’s been a little crazy! However, I am now officially a graduate (wow that’s weird!), so I thought it was about time I baked another recipe.

This is a recipe I’ve had bookmarked for ages now, so I thought I’d give it a whirl the other day. I adapted it from the original recipe, which was for salted caramel and butterscotch blondies and can be found here. I adapted it because I believe in posting recipes that you can get all the ingredients for easily- especially if you’re a student, and some of them in the original aren’t as readily available as they perhaps are in America. I feel like salted caramel has turned into a bit of a trend in the baking world lately and I have to admit I’ve become a little obsessed myself! Brownies are one of my favourite things to bake and they’re perfect for students as they’re easy to make, keep better than a lot of cakes and don’t use too many ingredients. This is a great twist on a traditional brownie recipe, so if you’re feeling that beach vibe, why not inject a little sea salted caramel into your life to tide you through (haha) until the weather improves?!

Salted Caramel Blondies

Preparation Time: 15 mins
Cooking Time: 30-35 mins

Ingredients
2 1/8 cups Plain Flour
1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
1/2 teaspoon Salt
12 Tablespoons Unsalted Butter
1 cup Light Brown Muscavado Sugar
1/2 cup Granulated Sugar
1 Egg
1 Egg Yolk
2 teaspoons Vanilla Sugar
1 cup White Chocolate Chips
1/2 cup Salted Caramel Sauce
Sea Salt

Method
1. Preheat the oven 165C, and line a brownie tin with greaseproof paper.
2. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside for later.
3. Combine the butter and sugars, then add the egg, yolk and vanilla extract and mix until smooth.
4. Slowly add the dry ingredients, mixing on a low speed until they are combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.
5. Press half this dough into the tin, flattening with a spatula. Drizzle the caramel sauce over this dough, then top with the remaining dough. This may turn out quite messy with some of the caramel showing through- that’s fine! Sprinkle with sea salt.
6. Bake for 30-35 minutes until golden brown.

Handy Hints
Stage 5- For this stage I recommend either flattening out the other half of the dough before you place it on top of the caramel, or using slightly less caramel sauce. Once the caramel sauce is covering the blondies, it’s a messy job trying to cover it!
Chocolate chips- I used white chocolate chips in keeping with the ‘blondies’ theme, but using milk, or even dark chocolate chips might dial down the sweetness slightly.
Ice cream!- these these go very well with ice cream, and maybe even an extra sprinkle of caramel sauce!

Salted Caramel Explosion!

 

 

Leave a Reply

