Salted Caramel Sauce

Hi everyone! I feel like I haven’t written up a ‘proper recipe’ in ages on this blog, so I want to start this blog by promising to post one soon! This one is a recipe but unfortunately isn’t a cake or pudding or anything, as over the past week devoured quite a lot of cake and still have lots to spare! Contrary to popular belief, this isn’t just how I spend my time- it was just a consequence of having a birthday and a dissertation deadline on the same day. So, due to the excess of cake I have at the minute, I decided to do a more different recipe for this post and in the process, face one of my nemesis’s- caramel.

The inspiration to try out this recipe, although I aim to utilise the product in a more healthy way, actually came from the brainwave that I could make the chocolate brownies I was made by my flatmate more unhealthy by drizzling caramel sauce on top of them. It could be also used to form a caramel sauce to add to the centre of brownie or cake recipes, or even as the caramel layer in my Millionaire’s Cheesecake recipe. However, this sauce could be also used for more healthy snacks, for example as a sauce for dipping apples in, as used in the recipe I found on this blog. I was a little scared about trying this recipe, given a slightly disastrous track record with caramel, so it may not have turned out as well as in the recipe, but it’s still a good consistency although it is thinner than it perhaps should be. Still, I’m proud that I didn’t burn it to the pan, and it still tastes good!

Salted Caramel Sauce

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar (very unhealthy I know!)
1/2 cup water
1 cup whipping cream
1 1/2 tablespoons salted butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Method
1. Put the sugar and water in a saucepan over a medium- high heat (I put my hob on 4/6). Boil the mixture until it reaches a medium amber colour (it takes roughly 12-15 minutes). Don’t stir it while it boils, shake the pan instead to stop the sugar sticking. I think I took my pan off the heat a little early, so the picture below gives an idea of how it should look a shade lighter than when it should be taken off the heat.
2. When the mixture has reached the amber colour, take the pan off the heat and add the cream. It will bubble up a lot but don’t panic- that’s fine. Whisk the mixture then add the butter, vanilla essence and the salt and whisk until the mixture is smooth and all the ingredients have combined.
3. Leave to cool, either in the pan, or transferred into a measuring jug so it will be easier to pour into containers. Once the mixture has combined, transfer to containers and keep refrigerated.

Handy Hints
Amber colour- My mixture looked like this:
10922176_844482085611796_1426108734_n

Adding the cream- don’t panic if your mixture lumps up and forms a tough caramel. Mine did the same, but I salvaged it by putting it back on the heat and whisking it for a minute. I realise this is probably what caused mine to be thinner than it should be, but it means that all is not lost.
Cooling- The mixture takes a while to thicken, meaning that when you first leave it to cool it will be a fair bit runnier than it will be once it’s cooled.

If anyone has any advice on how best to judge when the sugar and water are ready for the cream, please comment and let me know because I struggle to get it just right! Enjoy!

11051591_844481975611807_1405522186_n

2 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Sauce

Leave a Reply

