White Chocolate Cheesecake

Hi everyone! I’m sorry for not posting for so long, but you’ll see why in this post, and my next two. Over the last two weeks I’ve had some baking requests from friends for various different birthdays! This post was the request to make a cheesecake for a friend’s boyfriend for his birthday. I was given the instructions to choose which cheesecake I wanted to make and honestly, I was feeling a bit of pressure to make the right choice. I mean cheesecakes are a very personal thing and making that decision on behalf of someone else is a big decision. In the end I plucked for one of my favourites which I figured no-one could hate- a white chocolate cheesecake. This cheesecake isn’t as cheap as some, as I’d been told that I would have the ingredients provided for me (free reign over ingredients wooo!) but it’s a great recipe for a winter-y bake too! It’s baked which means that you can eat it nice and warm for a winter bake or you have it cold with berries for a nice flavour.

The recipe is taken from the Divine chocolate cookbook (yeah I know I’m mentioning them again but this is the last time for a while I promise!). There’s a link to the cookbook in my older post here. I love this recipe because it’s white chocolate, but it’s not too sickly sweet like you’d imagine it might be- it has orange and lemon in it which nicely balances the flavour and makes it a bit more fruity, but still sweet like chocolate.

White Chocolate Cheesecake:
Preparation Time: 15-20 mins
Baking Time: 40 mins

Ingredients:
Base:
2 Tablespoons Cocoa powder
75g Butter
150g Digestive Biscuits
50g Caster Sugar
Filling:
200g White chocolate
3 Tablespoons warm water
600g Cream/ Soft cheese
75g Caster Sugar
Grated zest 1/2 an orange
Grated zest and juice of 1/2 a lemon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
2 eggs

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 150C/300F/Gas 2
2. Make the base first: Mix the cocoa powder and the butter. Crush the biscuits into crumbs and stir the biscuit crumbs and the sugar into the cocoa and butter mix. When thoroughly combined and all the crumbs have been covered, press into the tin (I use a 23cm Sprinform tin for this recipe, greased and lined with greaseproof paper). Press down firmly until the base is 1-2cm up the sides of the tin. Put in the fridge until needed.
3. Break up the chocolate and melt with the warm water. Stir gently once melted and leave to cool until needed.
4. Add the cream cheese, sugar, orange zest, lemon zest, lemon juice, vanilla essence and eggs into a bowl and mix with a hand mixer until the mixture is very smooth.
5. Once the mixture is fully combined, add the chocolate and mix again until fully combined and smooth.
6. Pour the mixture into the base, then bake for 40 minutes.
7. This bit sounds weird, but once the cheesecake is cooked (it should be firm and not wobble if you jiggle the tin), turn off the oven but don’t remove the cheesecake yet. Leave the cheesecake in the oven for an hour.
8. Remove from the oven and leave to cool completely, then put in the fridge.

Handy Hints:
Melting the chocolate- Usually I do this in the microwave, but this doesn’t work with the water added in, as it just ruins the chocolate. I know it takes longer, but I’m afraid you do have to do this properly over a pan of boiling water!
Oranges and Lemons- Make sure that the fruit you use is unwaxed, as this makes for a very strange zest if it is!
Mixing- Don’t over-mix this, but do make sure that the mixture is smooth with no lumps of sugar or butter.

cheesecake sparkler

 

Leave a Reply

