Cookie Dough

Hi everyone! I’m so sorry that, yet again, this post is a bit late! It’s been one of those weeks where all your deadlines seem to hit you at once, and on top of that I’ve been trying to start applications for jobs, masters, anything that’ll accept me- third years you know what I mean! But anyway, deadlines and rants over, this recipe actually came about because of a poker game (sounds strange, but stay with me…). Our flat have been playing a bit of poker recently, and instead of money being the prize (being poor students that we are), the winner gets to pick someone that was playing the game to cook for them one night. So, if any of you are poker players here, a little suggestion for you there, which works well for us! Anyways, I’m thinking you can imagine where this is going… In our most recent game, it was me and my flatmate left and I’d not been picked to cook yet so, being the bright spark that she is, she suggested that I bake something for her instead of cooking. Now I’m not sure whether this was a subtle dig at my cooking skills, but I was more then happy to oblige!

She suggested that I bake something not already on my blog, which was nice because it meant I got to kill two birds with one stone by baking for her and making a blog post out of it. You know, all clouds have a silver lining and all that. She suggested cookie dough, and we both got quite excited at the prospect. This is mainly, on my part, because my friends from home are a little obsessed with the cookie dough dessert in Pizza Hut, one in particular (you know who you are if you’re reading!).

After some trawling through various baking blogs, I stumbled across the recipe I used on Bloglovin, courtesy of Bakerella. Her original recipe can be found here: http://greatideas.people.com/2014/08/01/bakerella-peanut-butter-chocolate-chip-skillet-cookie-recipe/
My recipe isn’t exactly the same, as I didn’t have some of these ingredients, and because I hate peanut butter (sorry to all the peanut butter fans out there!).

Cookie Dough:
Preparation Time: 10 mins
Baking time: 25-30 mins

Ingredients:
2/3 Cup Caster Sugar
1/2 Cup Light Brown Sugar
10 Tablespoons Butter
2/3 Cup Nutella
1 Egg
1 Egg Yolk
2 tsp Vanilla Essence
1 3/4 Cups Plain Flour
3/4 Teaspoon Baking Soda
1 tsp Salt
1 big, Christmas tube of Smarties

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 180C.
2. Stir together both sugars until combined. Then, add the butter and mix until the mixture has no lumps.
3. Add the Nutella, and whisk until thoroughly combined. Add the egg, the egg yolk and the vanilla essence and stir until combined.
4. Stir in flour, baking soda and salt and mix until all the ingredients have come together. Add in the smarties.
5. Press into a brownie tray, or for a more cookie-like look, into a iron skillet (I didn’t have one of those!).
6. Bake in a heated oven for 25-30 mins, until the edges are browned and the top looks non-liquidy.
7. Cool slightly and eat! (this is really best with ice-cream- without it it’d just be lonely.)

Handy Hints:
Cup measurements- I’ve kept these in because I had some cup measurements, but if you don’t have these, then here’s a good conversion website you can use to convert it: http://calculator-converter.com/converter_g_to_c_grams_to_cups_calculator.php
Smarties- these were originally supposed to be chocolate chips, but Spar didn’t have any! This recipe would work well with any coated chocolate sweets really. If you use chocolate chips, chunky ones would be best as they’d disappear a bit if you used small ones I think.
Salt- Don’t panic about adding this much salt to the mixture- I know you can taste it in the mixture, but when it’s cooked you don’t taste it.
Nutella- You could substitute this for any kind of sweet spread I guess! I only used Nutella because I don’t like peanut butter and my flat has a bit of a Nutella obsession.
Baking- Don’t worry if this doesn’t fill your tray- it does spread a fair bit in the oven.

cookie dough with ice cream

cookie dough middle

Photography By: Nitya Kanoria

 

Leave a Reply

