Birthday Cakes!

Hey everyone! Sorry this post is a bit late- it’s been one of those weeks where all your work seems to hit you at once, and I was away for the weekend! Last week for me was a week of many birthdays- it was my flatmate’s and my grandma’s birthday on Sunday, and on Monday it was my cousin and one of my English Language friend’s birthdays! I think most people would agree that the best thing about birthdays that aren’t your own is definitely birthday cakes. I LOVE birthday cakes- I love making them for people, I love eating them for sometimes days afterwards, and I love the fact that you can make fancy cakes that you wouldn’t usually make.
We have a bit of a tradition in our flat of collectively making cakes for another flatmates birthday (a great tradition if you ask me!). The funny thing is that we also make these cakes as a ‘surprise’, even though each flatmate knows they’re going to get a cake- who knows why, it’s just more fun that way. So, after many hushed conversations behind closed doors, we decided on a recipe. The recipe was good, but the real star of the show here was the frosting, which is the recipe I’m sharing with you all today.
Over the years our flat’s birthday cakes have had some interesting designs, but I think this one is definitely our pride and joy. This years cake baking has reached new heights (maybe because I threatened to put pictures on my blog?!), so I’m actually very proud of the result! The recipe is taken from the Hummingbird book ‘Home Sweet Home’ from their recipe ‘Mississippi Mud Cake’. We then added mini marshmallows, grated dark chocolate and some chocolate sprinkles.

Chocolate Fudge Frosting
Preparation Time: 5-10 mins
Price: £4.74

Ingredients:
800g Icing Sugar
120g Cocoa Powder
150g Butter
600g Cream Cheese
Dark Chocolate (probably around 20g in all)
Mini Marshmallows
Chocolate sprinkles

Note: This recipe actually made enough to cover a 20cm diameter cake, and as a topping for a tray of brownies.

Method:
1. Mix the icing sugar, cocoa powder and slightly melted butter together on a low speed until fully combined. The texture will be a bit sandy but there shouldn’t be any lumps of butter.
2. Add a bit of the cream cheese (about 200g) to loosen the mixture and beat until smooth.
3. Add the remaining cream cheese and mix on a slow speed until fully incorporated, with no lumps and a smooth texture. Turn on a high speed and beat the frosting until light and fluffy.

Handy Hints:
Texture- Although ours may not be the neatest icing ever applied, you can create a nice texture once you’ve spread the frosting all over the sponges, by running a serrated knife around the cake to create a lined effect. You only need to press very lightly to achieve this, or you’ll just be scraping the frosting off.
Covering- This recipe has a lot of frosting, so I covered the sides of the sponges too- if you don’t want to cover the sides then reduce the recipe slightly.

shreeman cake2

shreeman cake

Leave a Reply

