Mini Cheesecakes

Hey everyone! This week I’ve started lectures, meaning I’ve been work out how best to organise my life for the next term. This means that my baking has unfortunately been shunted to the bottom of the job list, and in true student style I’m writing this on the last day of the week, right up to the deadline. This week I’ve been thinking about cheesecake (sadly not that unusual for me) and how much better it would be if you could make individual little cheesecakes. I figured it wouldn’t be that hard to manage, so I bought some little ramequins when I did my food shop (look at me forward planning!) and devised a little recipe to see how it went. I’ve put the recipe in individual portions, so you can multiply it depending on how many ramequins or containers you have. I had four, so quadrupled the ingredients in this recipe. I hope you like it- I thought they looked so cute and I actually quite like the idea that you could just multiply it to make as many as you like.

Mini cheesecakes:

Preparation Time: 10 minutes
Fridge Time: 40 minutes
Price (per mini cheesecake): Β£0.84
Price of ramequin: Β£1

Ingredients:
25g Digestive biscuits
10g Butter
30g Soft/ Cream cheese
1 Tablespoon Icing Sugar
1/2 Teaspoon Vanilla Essence
Anything you like to decorate them with!

Method:
1. For the base, bash the digestives into small crumbs. Melt the butter slightly and then mix into the digestive crumbs until fully combined.
2. Spread the biscuit and butter mixture into the containers and press down to make an even base. Fridge the bases for 10 minutes.
3. While the bases are in the fridge, mix all the remaining ingredients together until they’re all fully combined to make a nice smooth mixture.
4. Take the bases out of the fridge and divide the cheesecake evenly between the containers you have. Spread evenly over the bases and fridge for 30 minutes.
5. Take out the fridge and decorate or eat right away!

Handy Hints:
Decoration- I used mini marshmallows and chocolate sprinkles, but I might try a sweet popcorn topping next time (I’m a bit obsessed with popcorn bakes at the minute) as I think that’d be nice with vanilla cheesecake.
Flavour- I chose vanilla for this, basically because I already had vanilla essence, but you could swap vanilla essence for lemon juice, or add cocoa powder to make chocolate cheesecake.

mini cheesecakes

Photography by: Nitya Kanoria

5 thoughts on “Mini Cheesecakes

Leave a Reply

