Holiday time= Ice cream time!

Happy Summer holidays everybody! I realise that, being students, most of you will have finished for summer ages ago, but not everyone’s as lucky as us! I apologise for not posting for the last two weeks- I was away enjoying a nice, sunny (for the most part) and internet-free holiday. Not that I want to gloat to any of you working or not holidaying this summer but I the sunny weather on holiday inspired this post which contains a recipe for perhaps the most summery food ever- ice cream! Having consumed many ice creams on holiday (including a kind of strange liquorice flavour one), it made me think of the best ice cream I’ve ever made, which is the one below.

I’ve only ever made ice cream twice, the first recipe being what I’d call a ‘proper’ ice cream recipe, the other being this recipe, which is what I’d call a ‘so easy it barely counts as baking’ type recipe. This recipe comes from a student cookbook called ‘The Student Kitchen’, which I’ll put a link to below, and makes a cookies and cream ice cream. It’s brilliant for students of any baking ability, as it only contains three ingredients. The ice cream it makes isn’t healthy, but it’s so creamy and the cookies create such a great texture that I don’t know how anyone could resist it. (you diety, healthy people I have the greatest respect for- I can never do it.)

‘The Student Cookbook’: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Starter-Kitchen-Callum-Hann/dp/1742668275/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1407950784&sr=1-2&keywords=the+student+kitchen

Cookies and Cream Ice Cream:

Preparation Time: 10 minutes

Freezing Time: 3-4 Hours (but preferably overnight if you can wait that long)

Cost to make: £2.21

Ingredients:

(makes 2 ice cream tubs full)

600ml Thickened/ Whipping Cream

395g tin Sweetened Condensed Milk

150g Cookies (I used Oreos)

Method:

1. In a large bowl/ jug whip the cream to soft peaks, then whisk in the condensed milk.

2. Place the cookies in a zip-lock bag, then bash with a rolling pin until roughly crushed.

3. Fold the crushed biscuits into the cream mixture. Transfer the mixture to a freezer-safe container or two and freeze for 3-4 hours or overnight.

Handy Hints:

– Bashing the biscuits: Make sure the bag really is fastened properly- we had an Oreo incident last year at uni which ended up being quite messy! If you don’t trust the zip-lock bag, or don’t have any, then double wrapping the bag with the opening at different ends works just as well. Alternatively, put them in a jug and bash with the end of a rolling pin or some other device.

-The recipe suggests a substitution for the cookies as breaking up chocolate-honeycomb bars like Crunchies, which although I’ve never tried, sounds very tasty.

– I think as long as you keep the creamy base of the condensed milk and the whipping cream, you could substitute any sweets or chocolate you like for the Oreos. Keep the quantities the same, but go crazy! Add what you like- I’m thinking of trying the Crunchies idea, but adding any dry ingredient would work just as well I’m sure. Or maybe try Mars bars (ooh that sounds nice!)? Be creative!

Enjoy! As ever, I welcome any feedback you have and I hope you enjoy this recipe.

Also, for all you UK readers- Great British Bake Off is back and this makes me very excited (how amazing is Norman?!)

Pictures from when I baked this yesterday:

IMGP8592 IMGP8596

Leave a Reply

